Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

Fans of classic animal stories like Pax and A Dog’s Way Home will howl over the heartwarming adventures of a coyote pup lost in New York City.

Brimming with curiosity, Trouble can’t wait to explore the world beyond Singing Creek. So one morning the coyote pup stows away in the back of a truck and ends up lost in the heart of New York City. While Trouble misses his siblings, he quickly makes friends in Central Park’s Ramble: a prankster crow, a timid opossum, and a poetic poodle.

Before long, he goes from howling for home to wondering if he could make a life in the city forever. But when word gets out that a coyote is running wild on city streets, Trouble must choose between the risks of being caught and the dangers of a long journey home.

Inspired by true stories, this accessible read from the award-winning author of A Dog’s Way Home will resonate with anyone who’s ever felt torn between the longing for adventure and the call of home. An appendix with real accounts of wild animals trapped in the city adds to the fun!

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

★ “An enthralling adventure with emotional heft and read-aloud potential. Fans of Kate DiCamillo, Phyllis Naylor, and E. B. White will treasure Pyron’s book.” —Booklist (starred review)

“A fast-paced, immersive exploration of urban wildlife from a satisfying animal point of view.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Based on real-life instances of coyotes inhabiting Central Park, Pyron’s tale deftly navigates the animal adventure genre with a lively voice. Readers will be captivated.” —School Library Journal

“A sweet tale about something we all yearn for, whether we’re four-footed or two-footed: friendship and a place to call home.” —bestselling author Suzanne Selfors

Praise for A DOG’S WAY HOME: “In the tradition of The Incredible Journey and Lassie Come-Home comes a heartwarming, suspenseful tale. An inspiring portrayal of devotion and survival against all odds.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Fans of the Lassie stories and The Incredible Journey will lose themselves in this harrowing adventure. This is an uplifting tale of devotion, perseverance and love beyond boundaries.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Readers will find it tough not to flip to the final pages to find out how this heartfelt story ends. Hand this to fans of Phyllis Reynolds Naylor’s Shiloh and Kathi Appelt’s The Underneath and they will not be disappointed.” —Booklist

“Bobbie Pyron gives us a triumphant story about faith and hope and never giving up, especially on the ones you love.” —Kathi Appelt, Newbery Honor author of The Underneath

“A Dog’s Way Home is at times hilarious, at times mystical, at times page-turningly suspenseful. The heartbeat of this story-like the strong heartbeat of the Sheltie at its center-will stay with you for a very, very long time.” —Gary D. Schmidt, Newbery Honor and Printz Honor author of Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy and The Wednesday Wars

“Beautifully written, this is an important story that speaks to the special kinship between child and dog. I simply LOVE this book!” —Patricia MacLachlan, Newbery Medal-winning author of Sarah, Plain and Tall

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062685223
  • ISBN 10: 0062685228
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 02/13/2018
  • Pages: 208
  • List Price: 21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1: JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Wolves & Coyotes
  • BISAC2: JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Baby Animals
  • BISAC3: JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General

A Pup Called Trouble by Bobbie Pyron

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!