Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

A charming, heartfelt tale of love lost and regained in a gated community in Savannah, Georgia.

After almost forty years in New Jersey, Catherine, Ralph, and their beloved Boston Terrier Karma are hitting the road, relocating to a gorgeous, serene island off the coast of Savannah, Georgia, where Catherine can work on her backhand and Ralph can hit the links. But upon their arrival in the Seven Oaks gated community, it becomes apparent that Catherine and Ralph’s visions of retirement couldn’t be more different. While Catherine is intrigued by their quirky neighbors, Ralph’s golf-and-poker routine seems to be interrupted only by his flirtations with their zealous real estate agent.

As the pair drift further apart, Catherine cannot help but sense her marriage is at risk. Then, she meets recent widower Fred at the dog park. United by their dogs, they embark upon a friendship that could be something more—until she discovers that he’s not quite what he seems. As she sorts out fact from fiction and discovers what sorts of secrets might be hiding behind Seven Oaks’ pristine picket fences, she’ll have to make a decision affecting her future happiness and her chance at newfound love.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Christina Kelly’s charming debut novel examines the heart of a long-married woman who, uprooted from the familiar, finds herself foundering, but finally flourishing in her new Savannah home, with a well-deserved second chance at love.” —Mary Kay Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of THE WEEKENDERS and BEACH TOWN

“Delightful. . . . Filled with heart and humor, it’s a coming-of-age tale for the over-50 set.” —Savannah Magazine

“Normal dogs and abnormal people provide an entertaining glimpse of lives in transition in Good Karma. This charming novel is full of unique characters with twists and turns I did not see coming!” —W. Bruce Cameron, New York Times bestselling author of A Dog's Way Home and A Dog's Purpose

Good Karma is a fast-paced, funny, great good fortune of a novel that has it all: a love story, a mystery, eccentrics, adorable dogs, and even an alligator. Christina Kelly has a talent for touching our hearts even as she has us falling off the sofa with laughter.” —Nancy Thayer, New York Times bestselling author of Secrets in Summer

“Christina Kelly’s heartwarming novel peels away the layers of the Seven Oaks retirement community to reveal the many secrets roiling below its surface. A wonderful cast of characters—including the chatty spirit of a recently departed resident, a matchmaking Great Dane, and a mysterious woman with a penchant for trespassing—adds up to a surprising, wise, and romantic debut!” —Meg Donohue, USA Today bestselling author of Dog Crazy and How to Eat a Cupcake

“A charming debut where Southern-spiced humor, quirky characters, a disembodied spirit, and furry friends come together in a story that proves a retirement community can be anything but boring.” —Beth Hoffman, New York Times bestselling author of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and Looking for Me

“Quirky and entertaining. A cleverly written reminder that it’s never too late to fall in love or become the person you’re meant to be.” —Wendy Wax, USA Today bestselling author of One Good Thing

“Humans and canines alike will delight and entertain readers in Kelly’s quirky debut. . . . Fans of Dorothea Benton Frank and Mary Kay Andrews will enjoy this witty and relevant novel filled with peculiar yet charming characters, and even more charming dogs.” —Booklist

Good Karma is a good debut by a good new author about so much more than a good dog.  Readers will treasure it.” —C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Paradise Valley   C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Paradise Valley   C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Paradise Vall

“Happy wordplay spices almost every page.  Meaning that Good Karma is more than just enjoyable.  It’s that rare book that is fun.  Actually fun.”
—Eric Burns, bestselling author and former correspondent for NBC News and the TODAY Show

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062659705
  • ISBN 10: 0062659707
  • Imprint: Harper Paperbacks
  • On Sale: 06/06/2017
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price: 19.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: FICTION / Family Life
  • BISAC2: FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC3: FICTION / Small Town & Rural

Good Karma by Christina Kelly

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!