Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

The Dangerous Art of Blending In

About the Book

A raw, powerful, but ultimately uplifting debut novel perfect for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe from debut author Angelo Surmelis.

Seventeen-year-old Evan Panos doesn’t know where he fits in. His strict immigrant Greek mother refuses to see him as anything but a disappointment. His quiet, workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend, Henry, has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer.

Tired, isolated, scared—Evan finds that his only escape is to draw in an abandoned monastery that feels as lonely as he is. And yes, he kissed one guy over the summer. But it’s Henry who’s now proving to be irresistible. Henry, who suddenly seems interested in being more than friends. And it’s Henry who makes him believe that he deserves more than his mother’s harsh words and terrifying abuse.

But as things with Henry heat up, and his mother’s abuse escalates, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by being silent.

This is a powerful and revelatory coming-of-age novel based on the author’s own childhood, about a boy who learns to step into his light.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Surmelis gives readers a protagonist to truly cheer for....A beautifully crafted story”
 
—School Library Journal (starred review)

“Your heart will break and beat for Evan Panos. This is a soaring and courageous debut, unafraid to tackle the weighty subjects of faith and love.” —Jeff Zentner, award-winning author of The Serpent King

“This is a story of survival and of triumphing to become one’s authentic self. An important book that will serve as a lighthouse for gay teenagers and build empathy in all readers, no matter their backgrounds.” —Jennifer Mathieu, author of Moxie and The Truth About Alice

“Angelo Surmelis writes with unflinching honesty, wisdom, and heartbreaking grace about the struggle for self when family is one of your greatest obstacles.” —Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned

“Readers will yearn for Evan to achieve the freedom, happiness, and love he deeply desires.” —Publishers Weekly

“Another heartbreaking novel that pits religion and sexuality against each other, but with an important, culturally specific perspective.” —Kirkus Reviews

“[A] poignant, sometimes explosive debut” —Booklist Previews

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062659002
  • ISBN 10: 0062659006
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 01/30/2018
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / LGBT
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Physical & Emotional Abuse (see also Social Themes / Sexual Abuse)
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration

The Dangerous Art of Blending In by Angelo Surmelis

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!