Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

The Grave Keepers

Format:

About the Book

Edgar Award-winning author Mindy McGinnis says of Elizabeth Byrne’s debut novel The Grave Keepers: “At times deeply atmospheric and darkly haunting, The Grave Keepers takes us on a spine-tingling journey into a world much like our own, where more lies beneath than above.”

Perfect for fans of Kelly Link and Laura Ruby, The Grave Keepers is a unique coming-of-age story set in a society obsessed with grave keeping.

Lately, Athena Windham has been spending all her spare time in her grave.

Her parents—owners of a cemetery in Upstate New York—are proud of her devoutness, but her younger sister, Laurel, would rather spend her time exploring the forest that surrounds the Windham’s’ property than in her own grave.

The Windham girls lead secluded lives—their older sister died in a tragic accident and their parents’ protectiveness has made the family semi-infamous.

As the new school year begins, the outside world comes creeping in through encounters with mean girls, a new friend, and a runaway boy hiding out in the cemetery. Meanwhile, a ghost hangs around the Windham property—the only grave keeper never to cross over—plotting how to keep the sisters close to home and close to her . . . forever.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“At times deeply atmospheric and darkly haunting, THE GRAVE KEEPERS takes us on a spine-tingling journey into a world much like our own, where more lies beneath than above.” —Mindy McGinnis, Edgar Award-winning author of A MADNESS SO DISCREET

“An odd and lovely story.” —B&N Teen Blog

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062484758
  • ISBN 10: 0062484753
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 09/12/2017
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Siblings
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Death & Dying

The Grave Keepers by Elizabeth Byrne

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!