Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

In this haunting and explosive debut, Meredith Miller explores the truth behind three girls on the cusp of adulthood, and all the shocking realizations that come under the guise of growing up. Perfect for fans of I’ll Give You the Sun and Girl in Pieces.

Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are different from everyone else. They can see beneath the seemingly perfect, cookie-cutter exterior of their small town of Highbone, Long Island. They know that below the surface, each house is filled with secrets, indifference, and violence.

These girls refuse to become willing participants of these fake lives. Instead, they are determined to fight every condescending comment, every unwelcome touch, and every lie they’ve been told.

When the opportunity to commit the perfect crime appears, the girls finally start to see their way out of Highbone. But for the first time, Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are keeping secrets from each other. As they drift apart, the weight of reality starts to set in. These girls can’t save each other. They might not even be able to save themselves.

“Darkly atmospheric and brutally honest, Little Wrecks depicts girls becoming women in a society that devalues both.”—Mindy McGinnis, author of Female of the Species

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Darkly atmospheric and brutally honest, LITTLE WRECKS depicts girls becoming women in a society that devalues both.” —Mindy McGinnis, author of FEMALE OF THE SPECIES

“Darkly thought–provoking reflections on modern gender politics.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Readers who adore lyrical, character driven fiction with a gritty edge will find plenty to love here.” —Booklist

“A searingly accurate portrayal of female adolescence. Impeccable in its execution. Any reader interested in the inner world of girls on the brink of womanhood in a man’s world will be spellbound.” —Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062474254
  • ISBN 10: 0062474251
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 06/13/2017
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Physical & Emotional Abuse (see also Social Themes / Sexual Abuse)
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Assimilation

Little Wrecks by Meredith Miller

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!