Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews!

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Self-assured, elegant and utterly captivating.” —New York Times

★ “Mixing gritty street life with the tenderness of first love, Haitian Vodou, and family bonds, the book is at once chilling, evocative, and reaffirming.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

★ “Filling her pages with magic, humanity, tragedy, and hope, Zoboi builds up, takes apart, and then rebuilds an unforgettable story. This book will take root in readers’ hearts.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Zoboi urges us to examine the American dream to see if there is room within it to hold the ones we love —Ebony Magazine

★ “Zoboi’s stunning debut intertwines mysticism and love with grit and violence…Fierce and beautiful.” —Booklist (starred review)

“Will reach young readers regardless of their background.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

★ “A breathtaking story about contemporary America that will serve as a mirror to some and a window for others, and it will stay with anyone who reads it.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

“A poignant meditation on one girl’s struggle to find her way in a new world.” —Nicola Yoon, bestselling author of EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING.

“Brimming with culture, magic, warmth, and unabashed rawness, “American Street” is ultimately a blistering tale of humanity. This is “Manchild in the Promised Land,” for a new generation, and a remarkable debut from Zoboi, who without question is an inevitable force in storytelling.” —Jason Reynolds, award-winning co-author of ALL AMERICAN BOYS

“Zoboi’s nascent storytelling gifts ensnare from page one. To this spellbinding voice of the next generation, I bow.” —Rita Williams-Garcia, New York Times bestselling author and three-time winner of the Coretta Scott King Award

“Following in the footsteps of Edwidge Danticat, Zoboi’s young adult debut is equal parts gritty and transcendent.” —The Horn Book

“A refreshing take on a common literary preoccupation, the American dream...fascinating and beautiful.” —Vox

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062473042
  • ISBN 10: 0062473042
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 02/14/2017
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Parents

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!