Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

Alabama Spitfire: The Story of Harper Lee and To Kill a Mockingbird

illustrated by Erin McGuire

Format:

About the Book

The inspiring true story of Harper Lee, the girl who grew up to write To Kill a Mockingbird, from Bethany Hegedus and Erin McGuire. Perfect for fans of The Right Word and I Dissent.

Nelle Harper Lee grew up in the rocky red soil of Monroeville, Alabama. From the get-go she was a spitfire.

Unlike most girls at that time and place, Nelle preferred overalls to dresses and climbing trees to tea parties. Nelle loved to watch her daddy try cases in the courtroom. And she and her best friend, Tru, devoured books and wrote stories of their own. More than anything Nelle loved words.

This love eventually took her all the way to New York City, where she dreamed of becoming a writer. Any chance she had, Nelle sat at her typewriter, writing, revising, and chasing her dream. Nelle wouldn’t give up—not until she discovered the right story, the one she was born to tell.

Finally, that story came to her, and Nelle, inspired by her childhood, penned To Kill a Mockingbird. A groundbreaking book about small-town injustice that has sold over forty million copies, Nelle’s novel resonated with readers the world over, who, through reading, learned what it was like to climb into someone else’s skin and walk around in it.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“The inspirational story of a protagonist who ‘carved out a life of her own design.’” —Kirkus Reviews

“An affectionate ode to a writer who “carved out a life of her own design,”” —Publishers Weekly

“Admirably show[s] Lee’s experiences in Alabama and in New York City.” —School Library Journal

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062456700
  • ISBN 10: 0062456709
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 01/23/2018
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1: JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Literary
  • BISAC2: JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Women
  • BISAC3: JUVENILE NONFICTION / Books & Libraries

Alabama Spitfire: The Story of Harper Lee and To Kill a Mockingbird by Bethany Hegedus

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!