Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults

About the Book

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Riley is a smart, funny, sharp-eyed force” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“One of the first YA books to deal with the complex issue of gender fluidity…Riley’s emotional life and personal growth shed welcome light on a hitherto obscure subject.” —Booklist (starred review)

“Vibrantly imagined…a welcome mirror for gender-fluid teens.” —Kirkus Reviews

“With a main character who truly deserves to be called unique, combined with heartbreak and triumphs that are universal, this unforgettable book made me laugh, and also cry: Garvin’s powerful new voice rocks!” —Lissa Price, international bestselling author of Starters

“Riley Cavanaugh is a sharp, funny, powerful voice for those who haven’t quite found theirs yet. Both highly entertaining and highly necessary, Symptoms is the kind of book that makes you a better human for having read it. I loved it.” —Dahlia Adler, author of Under the Lights and Just Visiting

“A moving portrayal of what it means to be different, yet the same, all at once. Jeff Garvin has written a beautifully thoughtful book.” —Renee Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn

“An important introduction for readers who know little about gender fluidity and a welcome nod to those who may be experiencing similar feelings.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062382863
  • ISBN 10: 0062382861
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 02/02/2016
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Bullying
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / LGBT

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!