Book Details

Harper Collins Logo
shadow

To read e-books on the HC Reader App, download it on:

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

About the Book

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda meets the 1700s in this hilarious and swashbuckling stand-alone teen historical fiction novel. A young bisexual British lord who embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An 18th-century romantic adventure for the modern age written by This Monstrous Thing author Mackenzi Lee.

Henry “Monty” Montague doesn’t care that his roguish passions are far from suitable for the gentleman he was born to be. But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quests for pleasure and vice are in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.

So Monty vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

Witty, dazzling, and intriguing at every turn, The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is an irresistible romp that explores the undeniably fine lines between friendship and love.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

★ “The book’s exquisite, bygone meter and vernacular sit comfortably on a contemporary shelf. And the friction of racism, tyrannical entitled politicians, and misguided disapproval of homosexuality also have a relevance rooted in current culture’s xeno- and homophobia. Austen, Wilde, and Indiana Jones converge in this deliciously anachronistic bonbon.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★ “This is a witty, romantic, and exceedingly smart look at discovering one’s place in the world. A stunning powerhouse of a story for every collection.” —School Library Journal (starred review)

★ “A gloriously swashbuckling affair.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Careening from fete to fiasco on a Grand Tour of 18th century Europe, THE GENTLEMEN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE is a dizzying, dazzling, and roguishly romantic romp. This book makes me want to unrequite my own love so I can requite him all over again.” —Heidi Heilig, author of THE GIRL FROM EVERYWHERE

“Don’t read this book unless you like adventure, hijinks, and forbidden romance, and if you do, then read it twice.” —Stacey Lee, author of THE SECRET OF A HEART NOTE and UNDER A PAINTED SKY

“An outrageously fun, witty, fascinating, and romantic adventure, starring a memorable trio I’d happily travel with for ages. Lee is a definite force in diverse historical YA.” —Dahlia Adler, founder of LGBTQ Reads and author of UNDER THE LIGHTS

“The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a Grand Tour all its own. Hilarious and romantic, adventurous and scandalous, Monty’s adventures are just as delightful as Monty himself. I adored this book!” —Rachel Hawkins, author of the Rebel Belle series

“Sweet, smart, and powerful, Gentleman’s Guide tackles timely topics that will resonate profoundly with readers--all wrapped up in a truly epic road trip. Prepare to laugh, gasp, swoon, and cheer.” —Claire Legrand, author of the Winterspell series

“A delightful romp of a road-trip through eighteenth century Europe, packed with witty dialog, razor-sharp pacing, and the perfect amount of swoon. You should abso-bloody-lutely read this book.” —Erin Bowman, author of VENGENCE ROAD

“Vice has never been more charming and virtue never more daring than in Mackenzie Lee’s superbly written globetrotting adventure. Not since Hamilton the musical has the 18th century been this much fun.” —Amy Cherrix, Malaprop's Bookstore

“An incomparably delightful historical romp. I was swept away by Monty’s incorrigible voice from the very first page, and the rest of this confident adventure tale did not disappoint. Lee’s sophomore novel has heart, depth, and an abundance of wisecracks from a protagonist you can’t help but adore.” —Rebecca Wells, Porter Square Books

“Simultaneously harrowing and hilarious, everything about this book from the serious questions posed about sexuality, chronic illness, and social inequality to the extraordinary journey Monty, his best friend, and his sister find themselves on make Mackenzi Lee’s latest the kind of book you’d be a fool to miss.” —Gaby Salpeter, Books of Wonder

“Monty and Percy are insanely shippable from page one, and quickly became one of my favorite YA couples of all time.” —Rachel Strolle, Anderson's Bookshop

“The John Hughes of queer 18th century adventure novels with an alchemical heart at its center. Lee perfectly captures teen humor and angst. I can’t wait to see what she writes next!” —Alsace Walentine, Tombolo Books

“I can’t wait to get this book in my store—I know my customers looking for historical fiction and LGBTQ stories will adore GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE as much as I have!” —Clarissa Hadge, Trident Booksellers

“Filled with highwaymen, pirates, and heart pounding exploits of a romantic nature, this is the summer road-trip adventure you’ve been waiting for.” —Marika McCoola, Porter Square Books

“With roguish charm, sly wit, and tender heart, THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE is a shameless flirt of a novel. If Monty and Percy hadn’t already stolen my heart, I would surrender it to them gladly.” —Wendy Darling, The Midnight Garden

“Wonderfully refreshing. A delightful, thoughtful, hilarious read.” —Maggie Kane, Between the Covers

“An adventurous romp through 18th-century Europe with a trio of unforgettable characters. Lee weaves together the fun and the fantastical with a conversation on historical privilege that will resonate with modern readers. Perfect for fans of LA Meyer’s Bloody Jack series. Expect to fall in love with this book!” —Nicole Brinkley, Oblong Books

An elegant, colorful, swashbuckling good time of a read and a beautiful addition to the LGBTQ+ genre. This is a great novel for upper YA readers and a great adult cross-over title. I definitely have a book hangover after finishing this gem. —Amanda Zirn, Bethany Beach Books

“A Marauder’s Map of the heart, full of pirates, highwaymen, humor and romance. Mischief managed brilliantly!” —Chris Abouzeid, Co-Owner, Belmont Books

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062382825
  • ISBN 10: 0062382829
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 06/27/2017
  • Pages: 528
  • List Price: 11.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Historical
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Siblings
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / LGBT

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!