Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

Revenge and the Wild

About the Book

True Grit meets True Blood in this delightfully dark and fantastical Western perfect for fans of Gail Carriger, Cassandra Clare, and Holly Black. This thrilling novel is a remarkable tale of danger and discovery, from debut author Michelle Modesto.

The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place, full of dark magic and saloon brawls, monsters and six-shooters. But it’s just perfect for seventeen-year-old Westie, the notorious adopted daughter of local inventor Nigel Butler.

Westie was only a child when she lost her arm and her family to cannibals on the wagon trail. Seven years later, Westie may seem fearsome with her foul-mouthed tough exterior and the powerful mechanical arm built for her by Nigel, but the memory of her past still haunts her. She’s determined to make the killers pay for their crimes—and there’s nothing to stop her except her own reckless ways.

But Westie’s search ceases when a wealthy family comes to town looking to invest in Nigel’s latest invention, a machine that can harvest magic from gold—which Rogue City desperately needs as the magic wards that surround the city start to fail. There’s only one problem: the investors look exactly like the family who murdered Westie’s kin. With the help of Nigel’s handsome but scarred young assistant, Alistair, Westie sets out to prove their guilt. But if she’s not careful, her desire for revenge could cost her the family she has now.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“This strong debut will delight fans of the genre” —Kirkus Reviews

“Modesto’s genre-bending novel offers full-bodied romance and electrifying twists.” —Publishers Weekly

“A page-turning, steampunk-esque Wild West adventure crawling with supernatural creatures.” —School Library Journal

“A good match for reader who like their fights bloody and heroes unapologetically brash —Booklist

“Impossible to put down.” —Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062366153
  • ISBN 10: 0062366157
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 02/02/2016
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Westerns
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Action & Adventure / General

Revenge and the Wild by Michelle Modesto

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!