Book Details

Harper Collins Logo
shadow

To read e-books on the HC Reader App, download it on:

The Witches of New York

A Novel

Format:

About the Book

In the vein of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, comes a new novel from historical fiction maven Ami McKay that transports readers to the heart of Victorian New York, where three witches practice their craft—to the delight of some—but at their own peril.

Respectable Lady Seeks Dependable Shop Girl. Those averse to magic need not apply.

New York in the spring of 1880 is a place alive with wonder and curiosity. Determined to learn the truth about the world, its residents enthusiastically engage in both scientific experimentation and spiritualist pursuits. Séances are the entertainment of choice in exclusive social circles, and many enterprising women—some possessed of true intuitive powers, and some gifted with the art of performance—find work as mediums.

Enter Adelaide Thom and Eleanor St. Clair. At their humble teashop, Tea and Sympathy, they provide a place for whispered confessions, secret cures, and spiritual assignations for a select society of ladies, who speak the right words and ask the right questions. But the profile of Tea and Sympathy is about to change with the fortuitous arrival of Beatrice Dunn.

When seventeen-year-old Beatrice leaves the safety of her village to answer an ad that reads "Respectable Lady Seeks Dependable Shop Girl. Those averse to magic need not apply," she has little inclination of what the job will demand of her. Beatrice doesn't know it yet, but she is no ordinary small-town girl; she has great spiritual gifts—ones that will serve as her greatest asset and also place her in grave danger. Under the tutelage of Adelaide and Eleanor, Beatrice comes to harness many of her powers, but not even they can prepare her for the evils lurking in the darkest corners of the city or the courage it will take to face them.

 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Nasty women, your party has arrived. Ami McKay’s witches are in town…. The real aim of McKay’s new novel is to show a group of believable women leading “an unconventional life”…. McKay is a fine plotter….The layering of narratives and styles is lively, and the multiple characters’ pasts are especially absorbing…. Society types straight out of Edith Wharton pursue spiritualism for fun… but McKay widens her scope with grimier episodes…. She has a nose for the Dickensian.” —Alix Hawley, Globe and Mail

“A labour of love, and a testament to the craft…. The novel unfolds with a hurtling intensity. But McKay doesn’t let the compulsive momentum interfere with her deeper explorations of her characters….McKay is able to tease out hidden depths and contradictions with ease, revealing the characters in their confounding (and occasionally off-putting) complexity…. One cannot help but want to spend more time in the company of these witches.” —Robert J. Wiersema, National Post

“The book is richly researched, and packed with enticing historical detail. McKay’s prose is, as always, superb — the descriptions enchanting, the narrative arcs compelling, the characters dear (or deliciously sinister, as the case may be). But it is the emotion of the novel that lingers longest, the pervading horror over the persecution of women — and what this persecution has done to repress women’s talents, impede their progress and stamp out their voices.” —Tara Henley, Toronto Star

“Boasting a set of core characters that are perfectly realised… The Witches of New York is a compelling, fast paced read…. [McKay’s research] shows particularly strongly in the strength of the link she makes between accusations of witchcraft, and their associated punishments, and a deeply ingrained, often religiously driven, sexism. McKay does not shy away from that, instead embracing the dark history of witch hunts and witch trials, and making it abundantly clear that this it was not just about stamping out magic, but stamping out a form of power that was, and still is, dominated by women.” —Jodie B. Sloan, AU Review (Australia)

“So well researched is this novel, so deep does it take readers into the dark and desperate life of Lower Manhattan that it is easy to believe it was written 150 years ago as a treatise decrying the fate that awaited so many impoverished young girls. . . . The novel is an immersive coming-of-age story, unnerving and powerful.” —Associated Press on The Virgin Cure

“Lyrical prose and deft storytelling.” —Chicago Sun-Times on The Birth House

“Strongly delineated characters and a vivid historical backdrop.” —Kirkus on The Virgin Cure

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062359933
  • ISBN 10: 0062359932
  • Imprint: Harper Perennial
  • On Sale: 07/11/2017
  • Pages: 560
  • List Price: 11.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: FICTION / Fantasy / Historical
  • BISAC2: FICTION / Occult & Supernatural
  • BISAC3: FICTION / Historical

The Witches of New York by Ami McKay

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!