Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

The Leaving Season

About the Book

Middie Daniels calls it the leaving season: the time of year when everyone graduates high school, packs up their brand-new suitcases, and leaves home for the first time.

This year Middie's boyfriend, Nate, is the one leaving, heading to Central America for a year of volunteering after graduation. And once he returns, it'll be time for Middie to leave, too. With him. But when tragedy strikes, Middie's whole world is set spinning. No one seems to understand just how lost she is . . . except for Nate's slacker best friend, Lee. Middie and Lee have never gotten along. But with the ground ripped out from under her, Middie is finding that up is down—and that Lee Ryan might be just what she needs to find her footing once more.

Cat Jordan's heartbreaking story proves that no matter the season, no matter the obstacles, love can help you find yourself in the most unexpected of places.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Jordan has crafted a story about leaving, about growing up, and about finding your path and being true to yourself… Fans of Sarah Dessen, Lurlene McDaniel, and other similar romance authors may enjoy Jordan’s debut offering.” —School Library Journal

“The real-life drama told in Middie’s voice artfully weaves a complicated personal story of rebellion and personal growth as she figures out what is really important to her and what love really means. A touching coming-of-age romance.” —Kirkus

“Some may find the ending exhilarating, while others will be reaching for hankies. Jordan’s debut novel should appeal to fans of Elizabeth Eulberg and Jenny Han.” —Booklist

“Debut author Jordan capably shows how Middie discovers new dimensions of herself, as well as how life moves on and brings new opportunities in the process… readers looking for happy endings won’t be disappointed as Middie stumbles her way back toward love and happiness.” —Publishers Weekly

“A story at turns gentle and devastating-the subtle romantic tension simmers as Jordan’s characters fight to define themselves and connect with one another. Gripping and joyful all at once.” —Megan Mulry, USA Today bestselling author of A Royal Pain

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062351371
  • ISBN 10: 0062351370
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 03/01/2016
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / General
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings

The Leaving Season by Cat Jordan

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!