Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

Underneath Everything

About the Book

Underneath Everything is a seductive, gorgeously written debut about two girls bound by an obsessive and toxic friendship, perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and Courtney Summers.

Mattie shouldn't be at the bonfire. She should be finding new maps for her collection, hanging out with Kris, and steering clear of almost everyone else, especially Jolene. After all, Mattie and Kris dropped off the social scene the summer after sophomore year for a reason. But now Mattie is a senior, and she's sick of missing things. So here she is. And there's Jolene: Beautiful. Captivating. Just like the stories she wove. Mattie would know—she used to star in them. She and Jolene were best friends. Mattie has the scar on her palm to prove it, and Jolene has everything else, including Hudson.

But when Mattie runs into Hudson and gets a glimpse of what could have been, she decides to take it all back: the boyfriend, the friends, the life she was supposed to live. Problem is, Mattie can't figure out where Jolene's life ends and hers begins. Because there's something Mattie hasn't told anyone: She walked away from Jolene over a year ago, but she never really left.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Lyrical, nuanced, and achingly real, Marcy Beller Paul’s debut explores the unmappable territory that is female friendship with honesty and heart. This is a book for every girl who’s ever gotten lost trying to find where she ends and her best friends begin—which, let’s face it, is every girl.” —Amanda Maciel, author of Tease

“Marcy Beller Paul’s Underneath Everything is a lyrical and haunting debut novel. The story of Mattie and Jolene digs right into the heart of a poisonous friendship between two teenage girls, and I found myself holding my breath during the book’s final pages.” —Jennifer Mathieu, author of The Truth About Alice

“Strong characters, an intense plot, and relatable situations make this debut novel a worthwhile read.” —School Library Journal

“Paul’s writing has a dreamlike quality that will keep readers wondering how much is imagined and how much is real.” —Publishers Weekly

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062327215
  • ISBN 10: 0062327216
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 10/27/2015
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Dating & Sex
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / LGBT

Underneath Everything by Marcy Beller Paul

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!