Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

About the Book

For fans of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series and Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Trilogy comes the first book in the Dark Caravan Cycle, a modern fantasy-adventure trilogy about a gorgeous, fierce eighteen-year-old jinni who is pitted against two magnetic adversaries, both of whom want her—and need her—to make their wishes come true.

Nalia is a jinni of tremendous ancient power, the only survivor of a coup that killed nearly everyone she loved. Now in hiding on the dark caravan—the lucrative jinni slave trade between Arjinna and Earth, where jinn are forced to grant wishes and obey their human masters’ every command—she’d give almost anything to be free of the golden shackles that bind her to Malek, her handsome, cruel master, and his lavish Hollywood lifestyle. Enter Raif, the enigmatic leader of Arjinna’s revolution and Nalia’s sworn enemy. He promises to release Nalia from her master so she can return to her ravaged homeland and free her imprisoned brother. There’s just one catch: for Raif’s unbinding magic to work, Nalia must gain possession of her bottle . . . and convince the dangerously persuasive Malek that she truly loves him.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“The story unfolds at a swift, even pace, and the worldbuilding is superb; the jinn inhabit an intoxicating, richly realized realm of magic, politics, spirituality and history. Readers will wish they had a jinni to grant them the next book in the series.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Blending ancient myth and glittering modernity, it’s an intricate and smartly written story.” —Publishers Weekly

“Exquisite Captive transported me to a world that was beautiful and terrifying, sensuous and dark, and utterly unforgettable. I’ll be haunted by Heather Demetrios’s brilliant and romantic take on modern jinni lore for many nights to come.” —Megan Shepherd, author of The Madman's Daughter

“A rich, unique world, full of characters who blaze as brightly as their tremendous powers—I was ensnared from the very first line! Exquisite Captive is a beautiful and clever reimagining of the mythology of the jinn, and utterly unlike anything I’ve ever read. Seductive, refreshing, and unforgettable!” —Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series

“Demetrios crafts a refreshingly diverse story with nods to Arabian culture in this lengthy blend of traditional jinni lore and urban fantasy elements.” —SLJ

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062318565
  • ISBN 10: 006231856X
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 10/07/2014
  • Pages: 480
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / General
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Action & Adventure / General

Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!