Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

The Art of Feeling

About the Book

For fans of Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places and Meg Wolitzer’s Belzhar comes an emotionally thrilling tale of a friendship between a girl who feels too much and a boy who feels too little, as they discover that maybe pain can bring people together and not just tear them apart.

Samantha Herring has been in constant pain ever since the car accident that injured her leg and killed her mother. After pushing her friends away, Sam has receded into a fog of depression until she meets Eliot, a carefree, impulsive loner who, is unable to feel any pain at all. At first, Sam is jealous. She would give anything to not feel the pain she’s felt for the past year. But the more she learns about Eliot’s medical condition, the more she notices his self-destructive tendencies.

In fact, Eliot doesn’t seem to care about anything—except Sam. And as they grow closer, they begin to confront Sam’s painful memories of the accident, memories that hold a startling truth about what really happened that day.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

Praise for PLEASE DON’T TELL —;

“Tims weaves a taut YA thriller...Readers of Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why (2007) will find this to be a perfect complement.” —Booklist

“As real as it gets, not only with its believable dialogue and diverse cast of characters but also its reflection of the world...teens will find this story easily relatable...mature themes are handled tastefully and appropriately...an excellent debut that will leave readers hungry for more.” —Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“The twins’ drama accelerates quickly, taking readers down shocking rabbit holes. High-octane drama that thrills.” —Kirkus

“Suspenseful debut. A compelling mystery. Tims expertly depicts the awkward uncertainties of teen life and the sometimes-blurry line between right and wrong.” —Publishers Weekly

“Addresses classic coming-of-age questions and touches on many important contemporary issues” —School Library Journal

“Funny and absorbing. Wry and engrossing.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Tims’ sophomore book captures the emotions of young characters dealing with loss, pain, and depression. A heartfelt package that many will enjoy.” —Booklist

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062317353
  • ISBN 10: 0062317350
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 08/15/2017
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Health & Daily Living / Diseases, Illnesses & Injuries
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Mutilation

The Art of Feeling by Laura Tims

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!