Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

The United States v. Jackie Robinson

illustrated by R. Gregory Christie

Format:

About the Book

A moving and inspiring nonfiction picture book about Jackie Robinson’s court martial trial—an important lesser-known moment in his lifetime of fighting prejudice with strength and grace—from author Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and award-winning illustrator R. Gregory Christie. Perfect for fans of Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, The Story of Ruby Bridges, and Martin’s Big Words.

Jackie Robinson broke boundaries as the first African American player in Major League Baseball. But long before Jackie changed the world in a Dodger uniform, he did it in an army uniform.

As a soldier during World War II, Jackie experienced segregation every day—separate places for black soldiers to sit, to eat, and to live. When the army outlawed segregation on military posts and buses, things were supposed to change.

So when Jackie was ordered by a white bus driver to move to the back of a military bus, he refused. Instead of defending Jackie’s rights, the military police took him to trial. But Jackie would stand up for what was right, even when it was difficult to do.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A story that will appeal to both baseball fans and those looking for an interesting way to highlight lesser-known aspects of the fight for civil rights.” —Booklist

“A worthy addition.” —School Library Journal

“[A] well-told biography…complemented by Christie’s dramatic expressionistic…illustrations” —The Horn Book

Praise for SNORING BEAUTY: “Fun for reading aloud, and children will be happy to help with the multiple snoring sounds.” —Booklist

Praise for SNORING BEAUTY: “A good choice for reading aloud.” —School Library Journal

Praise for HAMPIRE!: “Building suspense and a sense of nocturnal dread, Bardhan-Quallen’s (The Hog Prince) rhymes are filled with puns (’”We’re sitting ducks,” the duck announced’), and the antics of the frantic duck and the animals he rouses should have readers laughing.” —Publishers Weekly

Praise for HAMPIRE!: “Kids will feast on this deliciously scary tale over and over.” —Kirkus Reviews

Praise for HAMPIRE!: “Fine’s paintings exaggerate the animals’ terror to comic effect (funniest is the pony cowering in the corner), and his canted angles give this just the right absurdist tone.” —ALA Booklist

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062287847
  • ISBN 10: 0062287842
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 01/02/2018
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1: JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Sports & Recreation
  • BISAC2: JUVENILE NONFICTION / Social Topics / Prejudice & Racism
  • BISAC3: JUVENILE NONFICTION / History / United States / 20th Century

The United States v. Jackie Robinson by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!