Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

Beware the Wild

Beware the Wild

About the Book

Southern Gothic gets a whole new twist in this debut novel, sure to appeal to fans of the New York Times bestselling Beautiful Creatures series.

The swamp in Sterling's small Louisiana town proves to have a power over its inhabitants when her brother disappears and no one but Sterling even remembers that he existed. Now Sterling, with the help of brooding loner Heath, who's had his own creepy experience with the swamp, must fight back and reclaim what—and who—the swamp has taken.

Beware the Wild is a riveting and atmospheric page-turner readers won't want to miss.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Creepily delicious swamp magic. I loved BEWARE THE WILD something wicked.” —Amy Plum, internationally bestselling author of the Revenant trilogy

“Unique, haunting, and filled with characters who steal your heart, you’ll be just as intrigued by the rural, small-town world that Parker builds as you will by the magic she weaves in the dark of the wild.” —Josephine Angelini, internationally bestselling author of the Starcrossed trilogy

“This book, much like its dark and enticing swamp, seeps into your soul. And that is a very, very good thing.” —Tara Hudson, author of the Hereafter series

“Brimming with mystery, passion, and dark enchantments, BEWARE THE WILD is Southern Gothic at its most beguiling.” —Sonia Gensler, author of The Revenant and The Dark Between Sonia Gensler, author of The Revenant and The Dark Between Sonia Gensler, author of The Revenant and The Dark Between

“Parker has a nice touch with the Southern flavor of Sterling’s Louisiana town, steeped in superstition and silence...This engaging debut should enjoy a wide audience.” —Kirkus Reviews

“A creepy, atmospheric book that will draw readers in...Beware the Wild breathes new life into the teen supernatural genre.” —School Library Journal

“Parker’s assured debut is a creepy southern fairy tale...[with] deeply sympathetic, expressive characters. This vivid swamp magic tale will appeal especially to fans of Brenna Yovanoff and Franny Billingsley.” —Booklist

“Parker hits all the right notes here, from the oppressively hot but chillingly creepy atmosphere to the slow-burn pacing to the cast of eccentric but believable characters. Fans of Yovanoff’s Fiendish and Quinn’s Another Little Piece will delight in this folklore- inspired Southern gothic.” —Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062241528
  • ISBN 10: 0062241524
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 10/21/2014
  • Pages: 336
  • List Price: 21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / General (see also headings under Family)
  • BISAC2: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / General
  • BISAC3: YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Siblings

Beware the Wild by Natalie C. Parker

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!