Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

Hello Goodbye

A Novel

Format:

About the Book

“Tender. . . . Chenoweth’saffectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth.” —NewYork Times

Ina single week, one family leaves behind its past as a daughter awakens to a newfuture, in Emily Chenoweth’s intimate and beautifully crafted debut novel oflove, loss, and learning to start over. Perfect for readers of Jennifer Haigh’s The Condition, Susan Minot’s Evening,and Kim Edwards’ The Memory Keeper’s Daughter, Hello Goodbye isat once an intimate coming-of-age tale and a solemn, elegiac exploration oflife’s passage. Elle magazine calls Hello Goodbye "A tenderode to empathy. . . . Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of theterrible, wrenching beauty of life."

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“This bright, well-crafted novel, set at a family gathering to celebrate a mother whose death is imminent, steers competently away from the maudlin and makes what could be a heavy-handed exploration of mortality instead an entertaining, sometimes delicate story.” —Lydia Millet

“Chenoweth avoids sentimentality, handling emotions with grace and consummate skill.” —New York Journal of Books

“Tender....Chenoweth’s affectionate style works marvelously, capturing the decadence of youth.” —New York Times on Hello Goodbye

“Chenoweth writes with a restraint that allows minor gestures to become elegantly weighted with meaning.” —New Yorker on Hello Goodbye

“Poignant.” —Boston Globe on Hello Goodbye

“Elegantly crafted.” —Vanity Fair on Hello Goodbye

“A tender ode to empathy.... Every page of this book serves as an affirmation of the terrible, wrenching beauty of life.” —Elle Magazine on Hello Goodbye

“Moving and assured.... Chenoweth’s smart, unsentimental and poignant takes on living and dying ring true, and her exploration of coming-of-age and coming to terms with mortality is divine.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Hello Goodbye

“An understated debut novel of great beauty and power.” —Kirkus Reviews on Hello Goodbye

“[Chenoweth] writes gracefully and eloquently of loss and love, portraying both generations at their most self-absorbed and most vulnerable.” —Library Journal on Hello Goodbye

“A beautiful novel ...Chenoweth’s eye for telling detail is as sure as her language is playful.” —Alice Sebold, author of The Almost Moon and The Lovely Bones, on Hello Goodbye

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062034601
  • ISBN 10: 006203460X
  • Imprint: Harper Perennial
  • On Sale: 06/14/2011
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price: 18.50 CAD
  • BISAC1: FICTION / General

Hello Goodbye by Emily Chenoweth

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!