Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

The Taste of Tomorrow

Dispatches from the Future of Food

About the Book

For fans of Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman, Josh Schonwald delivers a fascinating investigation into the trends and technologies that are transforming the world of food before our very eyes—from Alice Waters's micro farm to nanotechnology and beyond. Building upon the knowledge base we have gained from such books as The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Schonwald takes our contemporary conversation about food a step further, debunking myths, clarifying controversies (such as the current storm over GMOs, or genetically modified organisms), and exploring the wild possibilities that food science and chemical engineering are making realities today—from food pills to new species of scratch-built fish.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Josh Schonwald is an adventurous reporter and engaging writer whose appetite for his subject, so to speak, produces prose with just the right leavening of humor. If we are what we eat, his real subject is cultural self- definition” —Ron Rosenbaum, author of Explaining Hitler and The Shakespeare Wars

“In his candid, sensible survey, Schonwald weighs carefully the pros and cons of our well-intentioned, but often blindsided ‘foodie fundamentalism.’” —Publishers Weekly

The Taste of Tomorrowis a fascinating adventure through what will controversially, inevitably, and desirably be on your grocery list of the future.” —Dan Koeppel, author of Banana: The Fate of the the Fruit that Changed the World

“[An] enthusiastic exploration of a range of possible food futures.” —Booklist

“The author effectively pairs his personal experiences with significant research, interviews and lively anecdotes. An articulate food book that has an opinion without being preachy and that exudes a joy about food without being oversimplified.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Schonwald is a good-natured and curious guide whose lightness of touch keeps you reading. A non-foodie at the start, he grows into his quest, championing sustainable, local and even genetically modified food to help feed the world.” —Financial Times

“[Schonwald] has come up with a great deal of interesting information, much of which will surprise people who eat food without giving much thought to where it comes from.” —Washington Post

“This is a fun book…Schonwald has the talent to explain serious, complicated issues in ways the average reader will understand. He does it in an entertaining, often irreverent way that keeps you turning the pages…a provocative book.” —Chicago Tribune

“…all this food exploration is divided into manageable and palate-pleasing bites.” —Associated Press

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780061804212
  • ISBN 10: 0061804215
  • Imprint: Harper
  • On Sale: 04/10/2012
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price: 31.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: HISTORY / General
  • BISAC2: BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Personal Memoirs

The Taste of Tomorrow by Josh Schonwald

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!