Book Details

Harper Collins Logo
shadow

To read e-books on the HC Reader App, download it on:

Beneath the Skin: A taut psychological thriller about a life-changing lie

About the Book

<b>‘I was gripped immediately - perfect for fans of Into the Water by Paula Hawkins’ KATERINA DIAMOND, author of THE TEACHER</b>

<b>‘Gripping, immersive, horribly believable’ SANJIDA KAY, author of BONE BY BONE</b>

<b>No-one remembers your past. But you do.</b>

‘Antonia, Antonia. My name is Antonia.’

It’s been her name for many years. But sometimes, like tonight, she forgets.

Antonia has a secret. A secret so dark and so deep that she can barely admit it to herself. Instead, she treats herself to Friday night sessions of self-harm while her husband David is at the pub, and her best friend Sophie is drinking too much wine a few doors down.

Nobody close to her knows the truth about what the teenage Antonia saw all those years ago. No-one, that is, except her mother. But Candy is in a care home now, her mind too addled to remember the truth. Antonia is safe. Isn’t she?

The lies start small. They always do. But when the tightly woven story you’ve told yourself begins to unravel, the truth threatens to come to the surface. And then what’s going to happen?

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

‘I was gripped immediately and I couldn’t wait for it to finish - perfect for fans of Into the Water by Paula Hawkins’ KATERINA DIAMOND, BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE TEACHER AND THE SECRET

‘Gripping, immersive, horribly believable, Beneath the Skin asks can we trust our friends? Should we believe our lovers?’ SANJIDA KAY, AUTHOR OF BONE BY BONE

‘Four couples with interlocking histories; eight individuals, all with secrets that are ready to explode. Set in the lush heartland of the Cheshire countryside, this is a tautly elegant psychological thriller, razor-sharp and utterly believable. I loved it.’ SARAH JASMON, AUTHOR OF THE SUMMER OF SECRETS

‘I loved Beneath the Skin. It's so beautifully written and kept me hooked right to the end. Caroline England knows her wonderful cast of characters inside out. I didn't want this book to end.’ LIBBY CARPENTER, AUTHOR OF 99 RED BALLOONS

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780008215064
  • ISBN 10: 0008215065
  • Imprint: Avon
  • On Sale: 10/05/2017
  • Pages: 362
  • List Price: 1.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
  • BISAC2: FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological
  • BISAC3: FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • BISAC4: FICTION / Family Life
  • BISAC5: FICTION / Crime

Beneath the Skin: A taut psychological thriller about a life-changing lie by Caroline England

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!