Book Details

Harper Collins Logo

CBA Libris Award for Non-Fiction

About the Book

From the Giller Prize-winning author of The Bishop’s Man comes a mesmerizing novel in the tradition of Alistair MacLeod, David Adams Richards and Ann-Marie MacDonald.

In one apocalyptic night, John Gillis and his estranged cousin, Sextus, confront a half century of half-truths and suppositions that have shaped and scarred their lives, their families and their insular Cape Breton community. Telling stories that unravel a host of secrets, they begin to realize that they were damaged before they were born, their fathers and a close friend forming an unholy trilogy in a tragic moment of war. Among the roots of a complex andpainful relationship, they uncover the truth of a fateful day John has spent 20 years trying to forget.

Taut and brilliantly paced, The Long Stretch is etched with quiet humour and crafted with fiery dialogue.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“[A] stylistically assured and mature first novel.” —Toronto Star

“MacIntyre conveys the language and the landscape of Cape Breton very effectively. . . . Evokes the complex relations that can draw families together and yet slowly drive them apart.” —Quill & Quire

“I can’t tell you enough how much I absolutely love this book. . . . If you live in Cape Breton or Newfoundland, you’re going to love this book. . . . I did not want to put it down.” —Candy Palmater, The Candy Show

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780006395836
  • ISBN 10: 000639583X
  • Imprint: Harper Perennial
  • On Sale: 05/15/2006
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price: 19.99 CAD
  • BISAC1: FICTION / General

Long Stretch by Linden MacIntyre

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.

HarperCollins Reader

We created the HC Reader App to be a simple way to read our e-books. Our App is available for download on iOS and Android devices.

We strongly encourage using the HarperCollins reader application since it supports the type of file we are using. You may experience some technical difficulties using a different reader application.

Instructions

  1. You need a HarperCollins Account. If you purchase/have purchased an e-book from HarperCollins, this is your account login and password. If not, please click here to register.
  2. Download the HC Reader App on iOS or Android. Enter your HarperCollins account username and password. Please note that your username is an e-mail address.
  3. Download your e-book and enjoy!